North York Horticultural Society

HOME       MEETINGS       ABOUT US       NEWS & EVENTS       JOIN US       SUPPORTERS      CONTACTS       
Online Newsletter
View District Site
View OHA Site

Home > Online Newsletter

Online Newsletter

Cummer Lodge - Community Outreach
by J. Shean



North York is home to Cummer Lodge Long Term Care Facility, located at 205 Cummer Avenue (at Willowdale Avenue).  Cummer Lodge encourages the partnership with the community to enhance the lives of the residents.   A group of volunteers at Cummer Lodge have been maintaining the garden beds and completing the gardens.   Pauline Dixie a volunteer of Cummer Lodge and member of the North York Garden Club brought the opportunity to help to our attention. 

We decided to make this our Community Outreach Program for 2015. To get us started Lynn Smith visited the gardens and attended meetings with Cummer Lodge volunteers to discuss what they wanted to see in the garden beds.

Cummer Lodge has a two tier garden bed that needed to be cleared and replanted.  We asked members to design an appropriate garden for this area.  The design needed to take into consideration the following.

  • Native Plants
  • Hardy, drought tolerant and low maintenance plants
  • Three season of colour and interesting foliage
  • Attract beneficial insects and birds
  • Suitable to the light and soil conditions.
  • Area faces SSE and gets a lot of sunshine

Lynn prepared a scaled layout of the garden bed so members could start the design process.  We were given the wish list for the garden bed and taking into consideration the budget and planting conditions went to work.  Our Plant Sale raised the funds to purchase the plants for the garden. 

The committee selected Joan Shean and Lynn Smith’s garden designs. Our Master gardener Pat Cappelli was asked to review and combine the two designs for the final garden. On May 30th volunteers spend the morning planting the garden.  Residents are now enjoying the garden and we are monitoring it to ensure it continues to flourish.

To see all the garden designs – click here to go to the Summer Special Newsletter, page 4




> OHA Convention 2018 - Host District 3

> How to Prepare - Plant Sale


> 2016 Flower Show Award Winners

> How To Prepare - Flower Show

> Nomination Form 2017 - Garden Contest

> 2017 Photo Contest and Past Winners

> Newsletters - North York Garden Club

> History: Past Presidents of NYHS

> Cummer Lodge - Community Outreach

> History: How We Started

> Parkview Neighbourhood Garden

> History: Trophy Winners 1964 - 2010

> History: Trophy Winners 1982 - 2010

> History: Gift to Toronto Public Library 2006

> Plant Suggestions for Each Season.

Last Updated: 2017-10-18